My Green Smoothie in the Morning

 

 

Ingredients-

 

·         One pear (Bartlett pears are in season right now)

·         One orange (you can also use mango and lemon)

·         One banana

·         A hand full of blueberries

·         A hand full of raw spinach leaves ( I use the organic baby spinach leaves from the market) My spinach in the garden is simply not ready yet.

·         Ice cubes (I use about four) and some water (measured one measuring cup- you know how much I dislike measuring :P)

 

 

 Cut the pears in quarters (you can remove the seeds in the middle by cutting off the edge of each quartered pear piece), remove the skin of the orange and cut in pieces, peel the banana and break into sections.

 

Load up the blender/smoothie maker with the ingredients- pear, orange, banana, blueberries, spinach leaves and finally the spinach leaves and ice cubes on top of other ingredients, and water (to help blending the ingredients). Start the blender on low and move to the highest power (i.e. the frappuccino mode) for at least 1 minute to make sure it is nice and smooth.

 

I actually have been throwing just about any kind of fruit and some veggies (I have not been too daring with veggies in my smoothies- tried different lettuces, kale and little bit of collards- but that’s about it) in my smoothie maker for a while now. I thought about getting a juicer, but I like the idea of a hearty drink instead of just juice- but maybe later, once I decide to put more crazy veggies in the smoothies. This recipe is very similar to the green smoothie recipe by the Raw Body Twins www.rawbodytwins.com (aren’t they just so beautiful?!- thanks for the videos!) but different. I have some home grown pears and blood oranges (so good!) and blue berries are on sale everywhere, so I decided to add those. Since I add the blueberries (super food), the color turns out darker, actually not too pretty- but hey, the smoothie is Yummy and nutritious. This recipe makes about alittle more than 32 oz, you can double it if you are making it for more than one person.  

 

This green smoothie is a great way to get your raw leafy greens and fruits in first thing in the morning. If you have kids, or a husband who aren’t the biggest fan of the leafy greens- this is a good way to sneak the greens in. J

~ by findsandy on August 27, 2008.

One Response to “My Green Smoothie in the Morning”

  1. nice site you have here interesting post will be sure to bookmark it 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
