Anniversary Week- No 1

Nowadays, a great blog often starts with a touching (and dangerously cliché) quote from somewhere. Since this blog is about our anniversary weekend and I really don’t intend on making it too mushy for our male audiences, I will omit love quotes like the following-

 

 

“The most wonderful of all things in life, I believe, is the discovery of another human being with whom one’s relationship has a growing depth, beauty, and joy as the years increase. This inner progressiveness of love between two human beings is a most marvelous thing; it cannot be found by looking for it or by passionately wishing for it. It is a sort of divine accident, and the most wonderful of all things in life.” Huge Walpole, Sr. 1884-1941

 

Ha ha got ya!

 

Well, I think it is more appropriate to call it an anniversary week, instead of a ‘weekend’-we started our celebration on Wednesday. It was fun, that both of us had a surprise planned for each other. Mine was on the actual date of our anniversary, and his was that coming weekend.

 

OCTOBER 1, 2008   Cardiff by the Sea, CA

I was amazed to have discovered this gem in Cardiff (Thank you, Laurie!!)- a beautiful bed and breakfast right off 101. Stunning ocean view, lush garden (you know I always appreciated great landscaping), and a killer roof top.

 

The second my friend Laurie showed me the roof top, I was sold on having the anniversary surprise here. It was beautifully landscaped, had a Jacuzzi, and a fire place. What more to ask for?

 

Oh, there’s more. Laurie brought me to one of their themed rooms- it was exactly like its name- Paradise. The tropical themed room with a ‘rain’ shower- I absolutely LOVE rain showers.

 

SOLD!

 

DONE!

 

WHERE DO I SIGN?

 

Sunset is usually at 6:20 PM around this time of the year-Not enough time to set up at all. I had the entire candle store worth of candles, dinner to be finalized, champagne to chill, and oh my God, there was no time! Laurie was an amazing help helping me set up candles, lay the white table cloth, set the table and ice the champagne while I was in Paradise getting ready. I have such great friends. J

 

Dave was given the address to come to the place only 20 minutes prior. He was brought up to the roof top first while I finished up getting ready. 

 

Walking up the spiral wooden staircase up to the roof top, in the beauiful dress Dave bought me, heels- why the heck did I start getting nervous?! I completely reminded myself of The Bachelor- “Will he give me a rose?!!!!” lol.  Especially when I walked up, he was facing ocean, watching the sunset and turned around with the gorgeous smile I love so much. 

 

It was all worth it then.

 

To be Continued….

~ by findsandy on October 20, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
